General

Webinar: Robotic Bin Picking | Vision Systems Design

Webinar: Robotic Bin Picking | Vision Systems Design

Date: Wednesday, July 13, 2022
Time: 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT
Sponsor: LUCID Vision Labs
Duration: 1 hour

Register Today!

Already registered? Click here to log in.

Webcast Description:

During this Webinar, Jared Glover, CEO, Capsen Robotics, will provide an overview of recent advancements in 3D computer vision software for environments where clutter is either unavoidable or too expensive to eliminate with special-purpose hardware such as bowl-feeders or shake tables, and for applications that need to meet stringent cycle times.

Specifically, Glover will discuss the state of the art in 3D object pose estimation and 3D object detection in clutter, with applications including robotic bin picking, machine tending, and repacking. He will discuss bin picking and precise placement of small, entangled objects; tightly packed flat automotive and medical supplies parts; and the real-life methods used to accomplish these tasks, including optimized geometric and machine learning algorithms. The ability to handle safety-critical components is important in repacking applications as to not damage the parts. The vision, motion planning, and end effector technology all play a vital role in achieving this.

Glover will also discuss 3D processing, robotic assembly, kitting and packaging tasks, and integrating multiple bin picking robots in a single line.

The presentation will be followed by a Q&A session with the audience.

Presented by:


Jared Glover, CEO, CapSen Robotics

Jared Glover is the CEO and co-founder of CapSen Robotics–a company that makes software to give robots more spatial intelligence. Jared received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from MIT in 2014, where he developed and applied new theoretical tools for processing 3D orientation information to applications in computer vision and robot manipulation. Prior to that, he completed his B.S. in Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon University, where he led a team developing robotic walkers. He has 20 years of research experience in robotics and computer vision and over 500 paper citations. He is also a board member of Catalyst Connection, a private non-profit that provides consulting and training services to small manufacturers in southwestern Pennsylvania.


Moderator: Chris Mc Loone
Editor in Chief
Vision Systems Design

Sponsored by: